Our Graduate School

...aims to contribute to the historisation of the GDR by understanding it as a European dictatorship and analysing it comparatively. This allows us to adapt questions and interpretations of other European dictatorship comparisons to the history of the GDR. We focus on the mechanics of dictatorships, their stability and demise, social support, factors of integration and disintegration as well as forms of political power connected to the experiences of Stalinism and the Second World War. Social integration and political repression should no longer be understood as different experiences of dictatorships, but as related  characteristics.

The Graduate School was formed in March 2017 as part of the Friedrich Schiller University Jena. It is comprised of six supervisors, 13 doctoral students and postdoctoral researcher Dr Katharina Lenski.

Ettersberg Foundation Weimar

...is in close cooperation with the Research Training Group "The GDR and the European Dictatorships". Prof. Dr. Jörg Ganzenmüller is head of the Ettersberg Foundation and spokesman of the Research Training Group.

The Ettersberg Foundation is dedicated to comparative research into European dictatorships and the reappraisal of the SED dictatorship. Within this framework, the Foundation finances two doctoral scholarships. The scholarship holders are associated members of the Research Training Group and conduct research here together with the other doctoral students.

At a glance

  • Vortrag von Dr. Katharina Lenski "People at the Margins. The "Asocial" and the State-Socialism"

    Am 8. November - Auf der Konferenz (Re)thinking Socialism. Knowledge, memory and oblivion of the socialist past am Institute of Ethnology and Folklore...

    Read more
  • Vortrag von Janin Klein "The Possibility of a New and Transnational View of Socialism and Socialist Countries Through Contemporary Witnesses and Oral History"

    Am 7. November  - Auf der Konferenz (Re)thinking Socialism. Knowledge, memory and oblivion of the socialist past am Institute of Ethnology and...

    Read more
  • Somewhere-Seminar mit Christina Heiduck und Dr. des. Christian Werkmeister

    Vom 5.-14. November - Als Bildungsangebot der Stiftung Ettersberg an Schüler*innen aller Schularten ab Klasse 10 in Thüringen leiten Dr. des....

    Read more

Das Graduiertenkolleg "Die DDR und die europäischen Diktaturen nach 1945"

...möchte einen Beitrag zur Historisierung der DDR leisten, indem es diese als eine europäische Diktatur begreift und vergleichend untersucht. Dies ermöglicht es, Fragen und Deutungen des europäischen Diktaturenvergleichs für die DDR-Geschichte fruchtbar zu machen. Unser besonderes Augenmerk gilt dabei den Funktionsweisen von Diktaturen, ihrer Stabilität und ihrem Ende, gesellschaftlichen Trägerschichten, Faktoren von Integration und Desintegration sowie Formen politischer Gewalt, die an die Erfahrungen von Stalinismus und Zweitem Weltkrieg anschlossen. Soziale Integration und politische Repression sollen nicht länger als unterschiedliche Diktaturerfahrungen, sondern als aufeinander bezogene Wesensmerkmale von Diktaturen verstanden werden.

Das Graduiertenkolleg startete im März 2017 als Teil der Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena mit sechs Betreuer*innen, insgesamt 13 Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden sowie der Postdoktorandin Dr. Katharina Lenski.

Die Stiftung Ettersberg in Weimar

…steht in enger Kooperation mit dem Graduiertenkolleg „Die DDR und die europäischen Diktaturen“. Prof. Dr. Jörg Ganzenmüller ist Leiter der Stiftung Ettersberg sowie Sprecher des Graduiertenkollegs.

Die Stiftung Ettersberg widmet sich der vergleichenden Erforschung europäischer Diktaturen und der Aufarbeitung der SED-Diktatur. In diesem Rahmen finanziert die Stiftung zwei Promotionsstipendien. Die Stipendiaten sind assoziierte Mitglieder des Graduiertenkollegs und forschen hier gemeinsam mit den anderen Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden.

Aktuelles auf einen Blick

  • Vortrag von Christina Heiduck "Die Kosmonauten als Helden in der DDR und der Volksrepublik Polen"

    20. November, 11 Uhr - Im Rahmen des Forschungsforums der Doktoranden des Historischen Seminars der Universität Leipzig wird Christina Heiduck...

    Weiterlesen
  • Somewhere-Seminar mit Christina Heiduck und Dr. Christian Werkmeister

    Vom 2.-13. November - Als Bildungsangebot der Stiftung Ettersberg an Schüler*innen aller Schularten ab Klasse 10 in Thüringen leiten Dr. Christian...

    Weiterlesen
  • Veröffentlichung der Doktorarbeit von Katrin Klausmeier "So eine richtige Diktatur war das nicht..."

    Oktober 2020 - Im Verlag V&R Unipress erscheint die Doktorarbeit von Katrin Klausmeier (ehemalige Kollegiatin) unter dem Titel So eine richtige...

    Weiterlesen